30 day blog challenge

Day 16 – Your Views on Mainstream Music

Yeecch.  In a nutshell, yeah.  I am odd – in many ways, but music is one of the biggies.  Oddly enough, my kids are the same as I am.  We listen to some of the new music, I am talking maybe 3 songs out of 6 months worth of ‘the latest top hits’ will get our attention enough for us not to turn the radio off should it come on.

I enjoy the old songs, and geesh I sound so old, but when the songs were about something.  This crap that passes for lyrics now, oh hell it turns my stomach, literally.  I enjoy Journey, Styx, Reo, Foreigner, Eagles, Meatloaf, even Queen.  Stevie Miller Band, Bad Company, some ac/dc, and just a few from bands like The Cars, & the Police, Sting.

So, today’s mainstream? Notsomuch.

______________________________________________________

Day 17_Your highs and Lows this past year.

The low was definitely my son being expelled for having a trace of marijuana in his pocket at school.  It’s been 11 months and we are still dealing with the fallout – which is larger than you can imagine.

Highs?  This has been a very hard year.  Nothing even stands out and yells ‘hey, remember that awesome day?’.  I guess if I had to choose, I have to go with the fact that Frank finally got a motorcycle again.  Yeah, that’s about as good as it got.

___________________________________________________

Day 18- A book you could read over and over & never get sick of

I will not be able to choose just one:

1. Midwives.  by: Chris Bohjalian.  I read this amazing book at least once a year.

can't put down, even though I've read it a hundred times

2.  Her Fearful Symmetry by: Audrey Niffenegger

awesome book!

3. Running With Scissors- by: Augusten Burroughs

I love his style, read everything he writes

Categories: 30 day blog challenge, about me, art, books, challenges, music | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

